deDeutsch

One of the most beautiful light festivals in the world.

The Festival

For the second time this year I visited and photographed the beautiful Amsterdam Light Festival (this was the 6th edition) with the theme “Existentiel”. The festival took place from 30th November 2017 to 21st January 2018. Especially interesting is the “water exhibition” where many different works of art illuminate the centre of Amsterdam on a circular route. This route can be taken by boat or on foot.

What makes the whole thing so exciting is the fact that all the artworks are created exclusively for the festival. In addition, the creation of the artworks also includes their exhibition location in Amsterdam.

The Amsterdam Light Festival strives to create innovative and unique works of art, which is why the festival collaborates with a variety of talented artists, architects and designers. They submitted their groundbreaking ideas as part of a worldwide “call for concepts”, whereupon a carefully curated jury selected the best ideas.

No less than 1800 artists were interested in the “call for concepts”. This resulted in 900 submissions from designers, architects and artists from 45 different countries around the world. 35 artworks (for the water and land exhibition) were realized.

Ai Weiwei

The Chinese artist and activist Ai Weiwei also created an installation called “thinline” – a 6.5 kilometer long line that went through the city of Amsterdam and represented a border. Who is allowed to cross the border and who is not? And who decides that? How vulnerable is a border? For me, the bright red line was a very good source of orientation, because it connected all the artworks. (Info-Video)

The light art installations

The light art installations were illuminated daily from 17 to 23 o’clock. Unfortunately (due to bad weather) I only had one evening to walk around and take pictures of the artworks. I walked a total of 21,000 steps, which is about 14 kilometres. I photographed 15 of the 21 shown artworks from the ” water exhibition “, the rest I found photographically uninteresting or I had no access.

In the following gallery you can have a look at my pictures:

Amsterdam Light Festival – 7th Edition (2018 – 2019)

Also for the 7th edition the Amsterdam Light Festival was looking for creative interpretations on the topic “The Medium is the Message”. The call for concepts for 2018 – 2019 has been closed since 17 January 2018. I am very curious to see what the creative people from all over the world have thought about this time.

This was certainly not my last visit to this beautiful festival.

The festival will take place in its 7th edition from 29th November 2018 to 20th January 2019 in Amsterdam.

If you want to learn more, watch the following videos:

Further information can be found here: https://amsterdamlightfestival.com/en

You may also be interested in the following articles:

Festival of Lights

Berlin

Bad Salzuflen

AT NIGHT

Amsterdam Light Festival

2016/2017

enEnglish

Eines der schönsten Licht-Festivals der Welt.

Das Festival

Zum zweiten Mal habe ich dieses Jahr das wunderschöne Amsterdam Light Festival (dies war die 6. Ausgabe) mit dem Thema „Existentiel“ besucht und fotografiert. Das Festival fand vom 30. November 2017 bis 21. Januar 2018 statt. Interessant ist vor allem die „Wasser Ausstellung“ bei der viele verschiedene Kunstwerke auf einer Rundroute das Zentrum von Amsterdam illuminieren. Diese Route kann man via Boot abfahren oder aber zu Fuß abgehen.

Was das ganze so spannend macht, ist die Tatsache, dass alle Kunstwerke exklusiv für das Festival geschaffen werden. Außerdem wird bei der Kreation der Kunstwerke auch an ihren Ausstellungsort in Amsterdam gedacht.

Das Amsterdam Light Festival ist bestrebt, innovative und einzigartige Kunstwerke zu schaffen, weshalb das Festival mit einer Vielzahl von talentierten Künstlern, Architekten und Designern zusammenarbeitet. Diese reichten ihre bahnbrechenden Ideen im Rahmen eines weltweiten „Call for Concepts“ ein, woraufhin eine sorgfältig kuratierte Jury eine Auswahl der besten Ideen traf. Diese Konzepte wurden dann vom und beim Amsterdam Light Festival umgesetzt.

Nicht weniger als 1800 Künstler interessierten sich für den letztjährigen „Call for Concepts“. Daraus resultierten 900 Einreichungen von Designern, Architekten und Künstlern aus 45 verschiedenen Ländern der Welt. Es wurden 35 Kunstwerke (für die Wasser- und Land-Ausstellung) realisiert.

Ai Weiwei

Auch der chinesische Künstler und Aktivist Ai Weiwei schuf eine Installation namens „thinline“ – eine 6,5 Kilometer lange Linie, die durch die Stadt Amsterdam verlief und eine Grenze darstellte. Wer darf die Grenze überqueren, wer nicht? Und wer entscheidet das? Wie verwundbar ist eine Grenze? Für mich war die leuchtend rote Linie eine sehr gute Quelle zur Orientierung, denn sie hat alle Kunstwerke miteinander verbunden. (Info-Video)

Die Lichtkunstinstallationen

Die Lichtkunstinstallationen wurden täglich von 17:00 bis 23:00 Uhr beleuchtet. Ich hatte (bedingt durch schlechtes Wetter) leider nur einen Abend Zeit, die Kunstwerke zu Fuß abzugehen und zu fotografieren. Hierbei habe ich ingesamt 21.000 Schritte zurückgelegt, dies entspricht in etwa 14 Kilometer. Von den 21 gezeigten Kunstwerken der „Wasser Ausstellung“ habe ich 15 fotografiert, den Rest fand ich fotografisch uninteressant oder ich hatte keinen Zugang zum Kunstwerk.

In der folgenden Galerie, können Sie sich meine Bilder ansehen: 

Amsterdam Light Festival – Edition 7 (2018 – 2019) 

Auch für die 7. Auflage suchte das Amsterdam Light Festival nach kreativen Interpretationen zum Thema „The Medium is the Message“. Der Call for Concepts für 2018 – 2019 ist seit dem 17. Januar 2018 geschlossen. Ich bin sehr gespannt, was sich die Kreativen aus aller Welt dieses Mal überlegt haben.

Mein letzter Besuch bei diesem schönen Festival war dies sicher nicht.

Das Festival findet in seiner 7. Auflage vom 29. November 2018 bis 20. Januar 2019 in Amsterdam statt.

Wenn Sie mehr erfahren wollen, schauen Sie sich die folgenden Videos an:

Weitere Infos finden Sie hier: 
https://amsterdamlightfestival.com/en

Die folgenden Beiträge könnten Sie auch interessieren: 

Festival of Lights

Berlin

Bad Salzuflen

AT NIGHT

Amsterdam Light Festival

2016/2017